Technology

The Permanent Mounted Transducer System (PMTS) ultrasonically measures the fastener pre-load. It is used in batch or mass production as well as in maintenance and for through life service and condition monitoring.

To measure bolt pre-load the ultrasonic sensor generates an energy pulse on the bolt head. This pulse travels through the bolt and is reflected at the end. The ultrasonic measurement technology calculates the pre-load based on the difference in the travelling time of the echo between the unloaded and loaded conditions.

The accuracy of the ultrasound monitored assembly process allows a significant reduction in safety factors required by the tightening code when sizing bolts for torque controlled tightening. In addition to design optimisation reducing weight and operation savings, the PMTS reduces maintenance and inspection costs in periodic reporting and documentation of bolted joints.

Together with our customers, public institutions and universities we are constantly further developing our sensors and our measurement technology. We willingly adapt to specific customer requirements and continually expand our product range. On customer request we accompany measurement campaigns or perform measurements on their products. We also train our clients in the use of our measurement technology accessories.

The permanently mounted durable thin-film transducerMethod for measuring

Technik

Das Permanent Mounted Transducer System (PMTS) dient der Messung der Vorspannkraft an Verbindungselementen mittels Ultraschall-Laufzeitmessung. Es wird sowohl in der Serienmontage als auch in der Instandhaltung eingesetzt.

Zum Messen der Vorspannkraft erzeugt der Ultraschall-Sensor auf dem Schraubenkopf einen Ultraschall-Impuls. Dieser Ultraschall-Impuls durchwandert die Schraube und wird am Schraubenende reflektiert. Aus den Laufzeitunterschieden der Echos unverschraubter/verschraubter Zustand der Schraube errechnet die zugehörige Ultraschall-Messtechnik die Höhe der Vorspannkraft.

Die Genauigkeit des ultraschallüberwachten Montageprozesses erlaubt die deutliche Reduzierung von Sicherheitsfaktoren, die bei der Schraubendimensionierung für drehmomentgesteuerte Anziehverfahren zwingend verwendet werden müssen. Neben der Konstruktionsoptimierung, die zur Gewichtsreduzierung und damit zu Betriebseinsparungen führt, ermöglicht die PMT-Technologie, Wartungs- und Inspektionskosten bei wiederkehrenden Prüfungen von Schraubenverbindungen deutlich zu reduzieren.

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden, öffentlichen Institutionen und Hochschulen entwickeln wir unsere Sensoren sowie unsere Messtechnik ständig weiter. Wir stellen uns auf spezielle Kundenanforderungen ein und erweitern ständig unsere Produktpalette. Auf Kundenwunsch begleiten wir Messkampagnen oder führen die Messungen an seinen Produkten selbst durch. Wir schulen auch unsere Kunden im Umgang mit unserer Messtechnologie und dem Zubehör.

2-Festhanhaltender-Duennschichtsensor

1- Methode der Vorspannkraftmessung